Buy This Book

Cheers

  • Starred review Publishers Weekly
  • Starred review Shelf Awareness
  • Best Summer Books 2014/Publishers Weekly
  • Huffington Post’s Top Twelve Young Adult Books 2014
  • 2017 Gateway Reader Awards finalist
  • 2017 Sequoyah Book Awards finalist
  • A Junior Library Guild Selection

Can anyone be truly herself—or truly in love—in a language that’s not her own?

Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age—a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all.

Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue–the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn’t always like, and the best friend who hasn’t said a word—at least not in a language Josie understands.

Funny, smart, and big-hearted, LOVE AND OTHER FOREIGN WORDS is equal parts comedy and coming of age. But more than that, it’s a love story about sisters, about friends, and about what it means to love at all.

Impossibly winning.

The Wall Street Journal

Josie’s a rarity in teen literature, a genuine original.

Kirkus

★ McCahan’s sharp-witted first-person narrative will keep readers laughing.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Other Books by Erin McCahan